Hotels.

I have been with my husband for half of my life. I was 17 when we started dating and 20 when we married. (He’s 10 years older than me.) I was young and perhaps a bit immature but I knew that I was in love. When I said my vows, I meant them. This was the man I wanted to grow old with and spend all the days of my life with. I couldn’t imagine myself with anyone else, there was nobody better for me. And then out of nowhere, someone else came along.

I didn’t go out looking for someone to have an affair with. This is very unlike me. I am not adventurous, I am not deceitful, I am not a liar, I am a normal wife and Mom who got in way over her head and barely recognizes herself at times. This friendship began innocently enough, on my part at least, and while I did enjoy the compliments and the flirting, there was nothing inappropriate going on at first. I didn’t think of Ray “like that” but Ray says that from the moment he saw me he knew he had to be with me.

Ray & I agreed to meet up for lunch on a Friday. We decided to meet up at a restaurant that was 10 minutest away from the office. I parked and walked over to Ray’s car, waiting for him to get out but instead he told me to get in. I figured that just like other countless times before, we’d forgo the food and have one of our car make-out sessions, but Ray had other plans.

Ray drove us a couple of streets over, never telling me exactly where we were going. When he arrived and parked at a well known hotel in our city I didn’t know whether to be nervous or excited. I think I was both. Ray grabbed my hand and led me to the elevator, we went up to the 12th floor and into Room 1278, I shook the whole way there. I don’t think I realized at that moment that there would be no turning back from this moment. I could no longer call what we had innocent, those days were over. I was minutes away from allowing myself to enter into a full blown affair. Life as I’d known it was over, the images of this day would replay in my head for the rest of my life, whether I wanted them to or not. I could’ve walked out, I could’ve said no, I should’ve said “I don’t want to do this” but I knew that was not true and he knew that was not true so I stayed and had the glass of wine Ray offered me.

Once inside the room, Ray began to kiss me and proceeded to remove all my clothes. He removed his tie and blindfolded me with it. I was just about to start freaking the hell out when I felt him pouring wine on my neck and chest. I was going to make a joke and tell Ray he had been reading too much 50 Shades of Grey, but when I felt his warm body on mine and his hands starting to explore I forgot what I was going to say. I forgot everything.

We made the most of our time together. Ray made sure I would not soon forget our first time together. We were relaxing in each other’s arms, ready to go for round 3 when his phone started to ring. First we pretended not to hear it, then we just ignored it, we didn’t want our time to be over. Ray finally reached over to answer the phone, from my side of the bed I could hear his girlfriend yelling at him cause he was late picking her up from work. I suppose we should have hurried then, but we took our time getting dressed. I was sad to leave, and for a second I thought this would be our first and last time but it’s impossible to fool yourself, I knew there would be many more hotel room lunches in our future.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

