Work

I’d always liked going to work, not only did it provide an escape from my crazy every day life but I happen to like my job. I work in a large building located in the middle of a large city where I’m constantly surrounded with an endless stream of people. The pace is crazy, busy and loud.  I would have to deal with a certain guy from time to time, mostly over the phone. Our relationship was strictly professional. One day out of the blue, something in our relationship changed. Our work related conversations became friendlier, nothing personal at first, just general conversation. I thought nothing of it when my new work friend began asking me questions about my personal life. It’s what friends do, you get to know each other. My first thought was that I should introduce him to one of my single friends. I tried bringing that up but he was never interested and the conversations always came back to me, us. One day he called me and invited me to lunch, I accepted his invitation cause it was just a regular lunch date with a co-worker, no big deal. Friends have lunch. I should have known better.

We had agreed to meet in the parking lot and head over to a nearby restaurant. Lunches with friends don’t normally make you nervous. They don’t make your heart pound, they don’t have you changing your outfit 7 times, that should have been my first warning. I was a ball of nerves by the time I headed to meet up with him. We sat in his car making small talk and before I knew it, he leaned over and kissed me. I wasn’t thinking clearly or I would’ve stopped him. I have a husband, I have kids, this is not what married Moms do on their lunch breaks. I don’t recall the exact thoughts that ran through my head at that moment but I felt guilty. I felt guilty and liberated, but mostly liberated. We never made it to the restaurant and instead we stayed in the car talking and kissing. By the time it was time to get back to work, I was a new woman.

I wondered if I’d just made the biggest mistake of my life. Should I put a stop to this before it gets started? Or should I just go with the flow and see where it leads me. I think it’s quite clear what I decided that October afternoon.

 

Leave a Reply

