Mistakes.

It was much easier to keep your private life private before the days of Facebook and Instagram.

I look back on the last year of my life and I can’t quite pinpoint where I made my first mistake. Where did I go wrong? If I’m being honest, I don’t always feel like what I’m doing is wrong because sometimes it feels very right. Perhaps my first mistake was being too friendly, if that’s the case it would be one of many firsts for me since friendly is not a word most people would use to describe me. Or maybe my fate was sealed the moment I gave my coworker my Instagram handle and accepted his friend request on Facebook. I suddenly found myself bombarded with likes and compliments and I liked it. Did I forget to use my better judgment when the co-worker I’d known for a while and dealt with on a regular basis (and never felt a thing for) started paying extra attention to me? Did I unknowingly send him signals that I was open to being more than semi-friendly co-workers?

All of a sudden we found that there was something drawing us together and we both began to feel an undeniable connection. I suppose I could have ignored it or put a stop to it but I guess it happened before I could fully realize and put a stop to it. Or is that just what I say to ease my guilt? Could it be that I knew exactly what was happening and that I actually encouraged him to take things to the next level?

Maybe none of it was a mistake.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

